Are you sure you want to erase the backup disk

Subscribe to RSS

are you sure you want to erase the backup disk

How To Free Storage On Time Machine Backup Drive

you    peter luger menu prices 2017   it just keeps getting better

Time Machine - Frequently Asked Questions. If you select Decide Later, you'll see the prompt again every time you connect that disk. If you select Don't Use, you won't see it again for that disk unless you reformat or erase it. Be very sure you really want to erase the disk before clicking Erase -- if there are files on the disk that you want, they will be erased. If you confirm, OSX will set Time Machine to back up to the location selected, and begin the first backup.

Time Machine: Troubleshooting backup issues. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question. I'm trying to use Time Machine on my Macbook which is a year old to back up onto a 1Tb external hard drive. I have Gb free on the hard drive. But for some reason Time machine presents me with the statement above.

Your drive is likely formatted in FAT If you want to use the drive for Time Machine backups, you will have to erase it and reformat using Disk.
does the moon affect humans

I just purchased a my book essential drive and have hooked it up to my macbook. A screen then pops up and says I have to first erase the MYBook disk. Nothing has ever been backed up to the MyBook. It is brand new out of the box. Should I allow the disk to be erased? Is this normal for a new external hard drive?

By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy , Privacy Policy , and our Terms of Service. Ask Different is a question and answer site for power users of Apple hardware and software. It only takes a minute to sign up. So, I'm trying to perform my Macbook backup on my 3TB drive. This drive is currently has a GPT table with 4 partitions:.

Time Machine can back up to an external storage device connected to your Mac or supported AirPort base station. It can also back up to a Mac or network-attached storage device NAS on your network. And after making your backup, you can use Time Machine to restore files from your backup. To use another Mac on your network as a Time Machine backup destination, complete these steps on the other Mac:. When setting up Time Machine on your other Mac computers, you should now be able to select the shared folder as a backup disk. For details, check the documentation for your NAS device.



Time Machine and WD My Passport

.

1 thoughts on “Are you sure you want to erase the backup disk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *